Wet Daisy 2

Like I mentioned in the previous post, here is one of the shots I got with my Nikon 50mm f/1.8 Series E lens mounted the normal way round on my D5100. The image clarity is absolutely astounding, with great sharpness and details. Can’t wait to try some more photos with this great little lens! 😀

P.S This shot is best viewed at 100%… (To do that, click on the image here, it will open the photo again with the menus above it, then click on it again and it will start downloading the pic in high-res so you can view it at 100%)

Wet Daisy 2

10 thoughts on “Wet Daisy 2

  1. This is a great shot. I magnified the center and it is amazingly clear. I’m thinking of a new lens and debating between the 50mm and a 60mm. Any thoughts?

    • Hi Pat, I had a look at your blog and noticed you use the same camera as me, good job! 😉 You have some lovely photos there.

      To answer your question is a bit difficult as I need to ask you a few questions first.
      (1) What are you planning on photographing mainly with your new lens?
      (2) Do you want to to have autofocus and vibration reduction, or do you not mind going with a full manual lens?

      • What I like to photograph is the problem. I want a long lens to do birds that don’t let me get too close, and I absolutely love macro. I am thinking that in Michigan for the summer I would enjoy the macro and then late summer get a lens that goes to 300 mm for my FL birds.
        I enjoy autofocus, although I use manual when the autofocus can’t get a focus. My current lens doesn’t have vibration reduction so I’m thinking whatever size I get I’ll give it a try. I generally prefer hand held shooting. Macro shots come out better with a tripod, of course.

      • Hi Pat, apologies for the long response time, was a crazy day yesterday!

        If you want to do some hand-held macro photography, you have only two options that have vibration reduction, namely the Nikon AF-S VR 105mm f/2.8G IF-ED or the Sigma 105mm f/2.8 EX DG OS HSM. Both are stunning macro lenses, and can both double up as a great walk around lens for general use, or a long portrait lens thanks to the maximum aperture of f/2.8, which will help you isolate your subject from the background, while keeping them sharp and in focus while hand holding your camera. Another plus point with both these lenses is that thanks to the 105mm focal length (equivalent to around 158mm on a full-frame camera), you are able to work further away from your subject when doing macro shots, which will allow you to get some wonderful photos of butterflies and the like without having to scare them off by getting too close to them! 🙂

        With regards to you also wanting a 300mm lens to photograph birds, I would recommend either one of the following lenses: (1) AF-S VR Zoom-Nikkor ED 70-300mm f/4.5-5.6G IF or (2) Tamron 70-300mm f/4-5.6 Di VC USD or (3) Sigma 120-300mm f/2.8 EX DG OS HSM (if money is not a problem). All three of these lenses will have a maximum equivalent focal length of 450mm on your D5100 thanks to the crop factor of 1.5x of the APS-C sensor in our cameras. The Tamron is the the cheapest of the three, and unlike the Sigma the zoom ring works in the same direction as the Nikon lenses you should be used to by now. The Sigma is of course the most expensive thanks to the ability to keep its maximum aperture of f/2.8 fixed across it’s 120-300mm zoom range, which will make it easier to hand hold in low light conditions. Just something to keep in mind.

        Whew! What a huge reply… If you need any more info I am glad to help you, just let me know!:-D

      • Wow, I feel like I just hit a gold mind of information. Thank you so much. I am really good at learning by experimenting with my camera but lenses cost a bit too much to buy and then learn that it isn’t good for what I enjoy most about photography. I have come to the conclusion that what I want are two lenses but am limiting myself to one at a time.

      • It is my pleasure Pat, glad I could help! Before you pony up the money for a lens, have you given renting a lens for a few days any consideration? I am not from America, but I have come across a great website that does just this, http://www.borrowlenses.com. Not sure if they are in your immediate area though?

        I see that they have a section for Nikon Telephoto lenses here and Nikon mount macro lenses here.

      • I found a used Sigma 105 mm for about half the price at B&H. They have a 30 day return which is better than renting. Money has been flowing out of our account like a raging river this month (I’ll post a pic of that too) so I need to check with hubby as to timing of purchase. I am so excited because this sounds like the perfect lens for what I get the most joy from.

      • That is absolutely fantastic Pat, hopefully your husband lets you buy it! 😀 That 30 day return does sound very good indeed, gives you enough time to decide whether or not you want to keep the lens!

Let me know your thoughts

