The Moon and it’s Craters

This is to date, the photograph that I am most proud of. After taking countless shots on the “AUTO” setting and not getting the moon in focus, I decided to try and do it all manually. Now, please keep in mind that I have only had my DSLR for 2 weeks now, so this decision was most certainly very daunting to say the least! I must say though, that the photo came out brilliantly, not bad at all for a Nikon 55-200mm lens! I am rather curious to see how much of a difference a 300mm, or even 400mm, lens would make to this photo… Please leave a comment below, I would really love to hear what you think of this photograph.

(Oh, by the way, I already cropped it to a widescreen resolution (1920 x 1080) perfect for your desktop… ;-))

4 thoughts on “The Moon and it’s Craters

      • I would think there would be a difference from 200-400mm. I don’t notice much difference between 200-300mm though. Going from 200 to 400 would show a bigger difference than going from 200 to 300. Your photo at 200mm came out a lot clearer than mine at 300mm and I used manual settings but not manual focus. I will have to try manual focus on the next clear night. You did a great job for having your DSLR for only two weeks. Love that Lexus LFA in your profile pic.

      • Thank you so much for the kind words, I am most definitely humbled by them!

        I want to try and take a photo of the moon through a telescope as well. Keep an eye out this coming Thursday I believe, at roughly 03:00am Jupiter will be going behind the Moon which can lead to amazing photo opportunities!

        The Lexus LF-A in my profile pic is one of only 3 in my country, and was the first one in the country as well. Hopefully I can find it again at the dealership so I can take some photos of it with the DSLR… 🙂

Let me know your thoughts

